steve-davis-thinking

If ever you have found yourself deleting some passages from a blog article, rewriting, then wishing you could turn back time, the new version of WordPress has you covered.

In fact, we could say,¬†WordPress now has a much better memory than you do! That’s me pictured, trying to remember my original start to this article …

The beautiful thing about the new revision process is that you can step back, version by version, and see your text (old and new) side by side.

To help even more, WordPress uses a red or green tint around the CHANGED sections in each version, so you can compare what you deleted or added as you worked on your masterpiece.

The whole process starts in the Publish area in the top right section of the screen when you are composing your content.

You will now see a section called Revision and next to it will be the number of revision points available.

Click Browse to start the revision process.

During the process, you can also click to compare two revision points by ticking a box in the revision screen called, Compare any two revisions.

Finally, you can either Restore the Autosave you want to revert to, or just click the Post’s title at the top of the page to return to the normal editing screen.

See the WordPress Compare Revisions system in operation

I found this video on YouTube of a short demonstration of the Compare Revisions system in action.

It is a little blurry at first but soon slips into gear.

[embedplusvideo height=”410″ width=”680″ editlink=”http://bit.ly/190FKCk” standard=”http://www.youtube.com/v/98h-A2FpPYw?fs=1″ vars=”ytid=98h-A2FpPYw&width=680&height=410&start=&stop=&rs=w&hd=0&autoplay=0&react=0&chapters=&notes=” id=”ep8014″ /]

As always, I hope this information prompts you to not only update to WordPress 3.6 but to also start blogging anew!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This